Monday, June 4, 2018

Lifting the Landscape: Christopher Curtis

Saturday, March 17, 2018 (All day) to Sunday, August 26, 2018 (All day)

The work of renowned artist Christopher Curtis will be featured at Tulsa Botanic Garden’s first sculpture exhibit March 17 through August 26.

Curtis works primarily in stone and he often incorporates sculptural welded stainless steel or bronze into his pieces. He began working with stone under the instruction of Paul Aschenbach at the University of Vermont.  Though Curtis employs current technology in his work, his abiding fascination is with raw stone. He sees in each stone both its ancient history and its unique shape. 

See and hear how Chris creates his art in the video below.  Special thanks to Sculpturesite Gallery and Scott Saraceno (owners) for permission to share. 

Inside Sculptor's Studio: Chris Curtis by Sculpturesite Gallery from Sculpturesite Gallery on Vimeo.

 “I begin not with quarried blocks but with raw stones as they are found in nature,” says Curtis, “Each one, with its time-honed patina, tells a story of a very long personal past.  The stones pass through the present very quickly and, with altered identities, continue their journeys into an unimaginably long future.”

For Curtis, stones are objects, not just material. That makes the discovery, selection and recovery of the stone an important and enjoyable part of his work. Curtis has studied the geologic history of his native Vermont, following the ancient lines of glaciers and inland seas to find stones whose stories resonate with the sculptures they become.

“I am interested in the peculiar intersection of the past and the future,” Curtis adds, “Cross-cultural and time independent archetypes are the universal symbols that capture and express this phenomenon in the present.  My work is about expressing these eternal truths in physical form.”

The exhibit includes a total of 15 pieces set around the Garden's lake.  All pieces are available for sale and a portion of the proceeds benefit the Botanic Garden. 

Christopher Curtis’ work is represented in over 250 private collections in the U.S. In addition, he has many significant public commissions, including among others: the U.S. Federal Reserve, Washington, DC; Red Rocks Casino, Las Vegas, Nevada; Reservoir Woods, Waltham, Massachusetts; University of Arkansas Medical School, Little Rock; and the U.S. Embassy, Copenhagen, Denmark. Curtis works from his studio in Stowe, Vermont.

Lifting the Landscape is sponsored by donors including James and Cherry Bost, Frank and Gayle Eby, Burt B. Holmes, and The Ruskin Art Club.   

Meet Christopher at a Reception on Sunday, August 26 from 4 to 6 p.m. in the Garden's Mabee Grange.  RSVP to info@tulsabotanic.org or 918-289-0330.
See catalog below of his pieces in the exhibit. 

 

 

 

Lifting the Landscape sculpture exhibit at Tulsa Botanic Garden

Garden Closed

Repeats every week every Monday until Mon Dec 31 2018.
Monday, October 3, 2016 (All day)
Monday, October 10, 2016 (All day)
Monday, October 17, 2016 (All day)
Monday, October 24, 2016 (All day)
Monday, October 31, 2016 (All day)
Monday, November 7, 2016 (All day)
Monday, November 14, 2016 (All day)
Monday, November 21, 2016 (All day)
Monday, November 28, 2016 (All day)
Monday, December 5, 2016 (All day)
Monday, December 12, 2016 (All day)
Monday, December 19, 2016 (All day)
Monday, December 26, 2016 (All day)
Monday, January 2, 2017 (All day)
Monday, January 9, 2017 (All day)
Monday, January 16, 2017 (All day)
Monday, January 23, 2017 (All day)
Monday, January 30, 2017 (All day)
Monday, February 6, 2017 (All day)
Monday, February 13, 2017 (All day)
Monday, February 20, 2017 (All day)
Monday, February 27, 2017 (All day)
Monday, March 6, 2017 (All day)
Monday, March 13, 2017 (All day)
Monday, March 20, 2017 (All day)
Monday, March 27, 2017 (All day)
Monday, April 3, 2017 (All day)
Monday, April 10, 2017 (All day)
Monday, April 17, 2017 (All day)
Monday, April 24, 2017 (All day)
Monday, May 1, 2017 (All day)
Monday, May 8, 2017 (All day)
Monday, May 15, 2017 (All day)
Monday, May 22, 2017 (All day)
Monday, May 29, 2017 (All day)
Monday, June 5, 2017 (All day)
Monday, June 12, 2017 (All day)
Monday, June 19, 2017 (All day)
Monday, June 26, 2017 (All day)
Monday, July 3, 2017 (All day)
Monday, July 10, 2017 (All day)
Monday, July 17, 2017 (All day)
Monday, July 24, 2017 (All day)
Monday, July 31, 2017 (All day)
Monday, August 7, 2017 (All day)
Monday, August 14, 2017 (All day)
Monday, August 21, 2017 (All day)
Monday, August 28, 2017 (All day)
Monday, September 4, 2017 (All day)
Monday, September 11, 2017 (All day)
Monday, September 18, 2017 (All day)
Monday, September 25, 2017 (All day)
Monday, October 2, 2017 (All day)
Monday, October 9, 2017 (All day)
Monday, October 16, 2017 (All day)
Monday, October 23, 2017 (All day)
Monday, October 30, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 6, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 13, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 20, 2017 (All day)
Monday, November 27, 2017 (All day)
Monday, December 4, 2017 (All day)
Monday, December 11, 2017 (All day)
Monday, December 18, 2017 (All day)
Monday, December 25, 2017 (All day)
Monday, January 1, 2018 (All day)
Monday, January 8, 2018 (All day)
Monday, January 15, 2018 (All day)
Monday, January 22, 2018 (All day)
Monday, January 29, 2018 (All day)
Monday, February 5, 2018 (All day)
Monday, February 12, 2018 (All day)
Monday, February 19, 2018 (All day)
Monday, February 26, 2018 (All day)
Monday, March 5, 2018 (All day)
Monday, March 12, 2018 (All day)
Monday, March 19, 2018 (All day)
Monday, March 26, 2018 (All day)
Monday, April 2, 2018 (All day)
Monday, April 9, 2018 (All day)
Monday, April 16, 2018 (All day)
Monday, April 23, 2018 (All day)
Monday, April 30, 2018 (All day)
Monday, May 7, 2018 (All day)
Monday, May 14, 2018 (All day)
Monday, May 21, 2018 (All day)
Monday, May 28, 2018 (All day)
Monday, June 4, 2018 (All day)
Monday, June 11, 2018 (All day)
Monday, June 18, 2018 (All day)
Monday, June 25, 2018 (All day)
Monday, July 2, 2018 (All day)
Monday, July 9, 2018 (All day)
Monday, July 16, 2018 (All day)
Monday, July 23, 2018 (All day)
Monday, July 30, 2018 (All day)
Monday, August 6, 2018 (All day)
Monday, August 13, 2018 (All day)
Monday, August 20, 2018 (All day)
Monday, August 27, 2018 (All day)
Monday, September 3, 2018 (All day)
Monday, September 10, 2018 (All day)
Monday, September 17, 2018 (All day)
Monday, September 24, 2018 (All day)
Monday, October 1, 2018 (All day)
Monday, October 8, 2018 (All day)
Monday, October 15, 2018 (All day)
Monday, October 22, 2018 (All day)
Monday, October 29, 2018 (All day)
Monday, November 5, 2018 (All day)
Monday, November 12, 2018 (All day)
Monday, November 19, 2018 (All day)
Monday, November 26, 2018 (All day)
Monday, December 3, 2018 (All day)
Monday, December 10, 2018 (All day)
Monday, December 17, 2018 (All day)
Monday, December 24, 2018 (All day)
Monday, December 31, 2018 (All day)

The Botanic Garden is open Tuesday–Sunday, 10am to 5pm with additional evenings or early hours for special events. Click here to view the calendar of events.

Admission is free for Botanic Garden members; $8 for general admission (ages 13+), and $4 for children ages 3-12.